Return to home page

Nora's Christmas Gift (1989)

"Nora's Christmas Gift": Text from Video Cover

Nora's Christmas Gift

Starring Celeste Holm and Elizabeth Wilson
with David Jensen and Lisa Iuary
Featuring the Mormon Tabernacle Choir
Produced and directed by Michael Hugh McLean

Nora, once energetic and eager to serve, spends her time feeling sorry for herself as she faces hearing problems and blindness. Losing interest in the things that used to give her happiness, like working withthe Christmas pageant she founded, she has given up: "I'm through," she says. "It's time to die."

Nora begins to open up to others once again when Jenny, blind from birth, teaches her how to use her senses of smell and touch to compensate for her lost sight and hearing. And then during a return visit to the Bennington Christmas Pageant, Nora receives her Christmas gift: the sure knowledge that Jesus Christ lives. With this increased spiritual sight, Nora can now face her physical blindness. She finally begins to understand how much Jesus loves her.

Time: 46:37.

The Church of
Jesus Christ
of Latter-day Saints

Not for broadcast. For home or classroom viewing only.
NOTICE: This cassette contains copyrighted material.
Duplication is not authorized without necessary
approvals from the copyright owners.
© BOnneville Media Communications

"Nora's Christmas Gift" opening credits as they appear in the video

The Church of Jesus Christ
of Latter-day Saints

Celeste Holm

Elizabeth Wilson


The Mormon Tabernacle

David Jensen
Liisa Ivary

Film Editor
Stephen L. Johnson

Production Designer
Doug Johnson

Art Director
Richard Jamison

Cate Praggastis

Merrill Jenson
Sam Cardon

Sound Design
Bill Conner

Associate Producer
James M. Rutherford

Story by
Michael Hugh McLean

Written and Photographed by
Brian Capener

Produced and Directed by
Michael Hugh McLean

"Nora's Christmas Gift" closing credits as they appear in the video

LaMarr Nielsen Fred
Hester Schell Yvonne
Star Roman Alfreda
Mary D. Pederson Bernice
Frank Gerrish Deaf Man
Jay Bernard Monroe
Nancy Borgenicht State Trooper
Stephen Cracroft Dr. Lyttle
Robert Conder Coach Dahl
Peadair Addie Jr. Scottish Farmer
Arthur Boyadjian Farmer
John Garrison Farmer
James Robinson Farmer
Donald Steffey Farmer
Susie Goebel Erika
Jason Johnson Jared
Jerold D. Ottley Conductor
J. Spencer Kinard Announcer

Production Supervisor Grant Baird
New York Casting Claire Newell
SAG Signatory Melanie Morrison-Lundy
Production Coordinator Terry Pappas
1st Assistant Director Blair Treu
2nd Assistant Director Peggy Stuber
Extras Assistant Rosalind Soulam
Script Supervisor Mark Thomas
1st Assistant Camera Brian Sullivan
2nd Assistant Camera Greg Rhineer
2nd Unit Photography T.C. Christensen
Matt Williams
Mark Taft
Rhett Fernsten
Video Assist Ed Burningham
Gaylen Nebeker
Still Photographer Gerald Hatch
Gaffers Garlan Wilde
Jon Tilton
Best Boy Kelly Mecham
Electricians Nicholas Peterson
J.P. Croft
Key Grip Richard Mitchell
Best Boy Alan Oakes
Grips Tyler Meiners
Duncan Filson
Greg Meiners
Boom Operators Steve Laneri
Glen Fisk
Music Recording Engineer Ron Miller
Dialogue Editor Matthew Nickel
Foley Ryan Purcell
Dave Neyman
On Line Editor Reid Griffiths
Post Production Supervisor Scott Freebairn
Art Department Coordinator Linda Jamison
Draftsman John Uibel
Prop Master Bill Shira
Assistant Prop Master Jim Sherman
Assistant Props Mark Cowley
Scenic Artists Nickle Lauritzen
Mindy Jamison
Lead Man Les Boothe
Set Dressers Barbara Ward
Stan McBride
Sadie Wing
On-Set Dresser Gordon Eddington
Painter Jim Bastian
Carpenters Lynn Clark
Randy Champion
John Franklin
Special Effects Lynn Maughan
Costume Design Nina Padavano
Wardrobe Assistant Kathy O'Brien
Seamstress Nancy Cavallaro
Makeup Artist Thomas Hoerber
Makeup Assistant Lisa Ely
Hair Stylist Tenita Parker
Hair Assistant Becky Iannone
Transportation Larry Matsen
Drivers Peter Matsen
David Peck
Sean Hyte
Orville Roylance
Rachel Rencher
Production Assistants Alan O'Connor
Chris Pappas
Penny Karen
Craft Service Suzie Clark
Stand-Ins Ilene Wood
Joan Burrell
Security Andy Nelson

Special thanks to the Folks in
West Jordan, Provo & Heber, Utah

Produced by Bonneville Media
Communications in association with
Bonneville Entertainment Co.

Church of
Jesus Christ

of Latter-day Saints

Note: Michael Hugh McLean, the producer and director, is more commonly known as Michael McLean, the popular Latter-day Saint songwriter.